Stroke is the 3rd leading cause of death in Taiwan and second leading cause of death in the world. WHO estimated global stroke deaths of 5.8 million in 2004 and projected global stroke death of 6.5 million in 2015 and 7.8 million in 2030. Every stroke death is accompanied by 4 stroke survivors with approximately half bearing significant disability that imposes heavy healthcare load and economic burdens on patients, families and the society. 


With number of stroke patients increasing yearly and globally, new drugs/devices or effective preventive and therapeutic measures are urgently needed for stroke therapy and prevention. This NRPB Taiwan Clinical Trail Consortium for Stroke (TCTCS) led by Prof. Chung Y. Hsu is organized based on a well-established stroke center network that forms the foundation for Taiwan Stroke Registry (TSR), also under the leadership of Prof. Chung Y. Hsu. TCTCS is an ideal late phase NRPB R&D platform for conducting multicenter stroke clinical trials to verify and validate novel drugs and medical devices. TCTCS will also provide a mechanism to assist new drug discovery programs initiated by stroke investigators outside NRPB, stroke researchers inside or outside the TSR network. TCTCS will also be open for sponsorship by the domestic and foreign biotech companies.

Organizational Structure


Principal Investigator: Chung Y. Hsu, MD, PhD,

Steering Committee:

Steering Committee
Chair: Prof. Chung Y. Hsu
China Medical University
Co-Chair: Prof.  Suh-Hang Juo
Kaohsiung Medical University
Prof. Jiann-Shing Jeng
National Taiwan University Hospital Department of Neurology
Chung-Hsiang Liu
China Medical University Hospital Department of Neurology
Prof. Yuk-Keung Lo
Kaohsiung Veterans General Hospital
Director Yun Sun
En Chu Kong Hospital
Director Jiunn-Tay Lee
Tri-Service General Hospital Department of Neurology
Director Chih-Hung Chen
National Cheng Kung University Hospital Department of Neurology
Director Li-Ming Lien
Shin-Kong Hospital Department of Neurology
Director Woei-Chern Shyu
China Medical University Hospital Department of Neurology


Data and Safety Monitoring Board

Prof. Sient Tsong Chen (Chair)
Chang-Gung Memorial Hospital
Prof. Han-Hua Hu
Taipei Veterans General Hospital
Prof. Hau-Chang Chiu
Shin-Kong Hospital
Prof. Hung-Yi Chiou
Taipei Medical University


Advisory Board

Prof. Ferid Murad
1998 Nobel Laureate in Physiology
Prof. John R. Adler
Stanford University
Prof. Pak H. Chan
Stanford University
Dr. De-Maw Chuang
National Institutes of Health
Dr. Yang C. Fann
National Institutes of Health
Prof. David M. Holtzman
Washington University at St. Louis
Prof. Clay Johnston
Prof. Eng H. Lo
Harvard University
Prof. Bruce R. Ransom
University of Washington, Seattle
Prof. Rajiv R. Ratan
Cornell University
Prof. Jeffrey L. Saver
Prof. Guochuan Emil Tsai
Prof. Yu Tian Wang
University of British Columbia
Prof. Stephen G. Waxman
Yale University
Prof. Justin A Zivin
Prof. Geoffrey Donnan
National Stroke Research Institute, Australia
Prof. Stephen Davis
President, World Stroke Organization
Prof. Shinn-Zong Lin
Superintendent, China Medical University Beigang Hospital


Contact Information

Contact:  Chung Y. Hsu, M.D., Ph.D.


Tel:886-4-22052121 ext. 6033